Update: More scam ads impersonating real sites

Joined: 11/28/2008

More Google adwords ads are showing up from the same source (see earlier post: http://geeksandgod.com/forums/random-discussion/we... ).

This time, the adsense url is:
http://gts-n1008.gtrkr.com
http://gts-n1017.mtrkr.com

etc., and impersonated sites include:
christianity.about.com and
www.blogherald.com

but the link actually leads to this page: http://www.bethsmoney.com/2/index.php?t202id=44068... or a similar url.

Very likely, they have a number of landing pages. For whatever reason, Google has done little about this, and the ads simply continue to show up.

As before, these ads show up on Christian sites as well as other sites. One was running on www.blogherald.com when I last visited. And another will appear on my site for as long as it takes the Competitive Ad filter to work.

My biggest question is: Why bother to impersonate real sites and risk legal action? Anyone really eager to make money at home will click on the ad, no matter what it shows for an url. And webmasters that are on to them will not be fooled by the fake domain address. The word stupid comes to my mind, but maybe a really good reason does exist. After all, Google AdWords and AdSense seems to be fooled.

I suppose it is simply a sign of the times. The amazing human mind at work.